Feast Of Saint Memas

18 Sep

Our village, Deirmimas is named in honour of Saint Memas, “Deir” means convent, and “Mimas” refers to Saint Memas or Mamas, a third-century shepherd who preached Christianity and had a lion as a protector. He was persecuted and became a martyr. Later on, in the middle ages, in his honour, a convent was built on top of a hill surrounded by olive trees. And a village grew next to this convent and was named Deirmimas.

Every year, on the 15th of September, our village celebrates this feast and organizes few activities. One of them is preparing different kind of finger-food, prepared by the ladies, arranging them on tables placed next to the church. This year I wanted to offer something, so I thought of some nice and easy sweets, the first thing that came up to my mind was the traditional Sfouf. And I’m glad I baked it because there were only two kind of desserts in addition to fruits.

 Enjoy the pictures.

seems like a fire but it's not, it is the sunlight breaking through the clouds

10 Responses to “Feast Of Saint Memas”

  1. christelle is flabbergasting October 5, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    This buffet looks so yummy! Mmm… 😀

    • Fragolina October 6, 2010 at 6:59 am #

      Thank you Christelle !! 🙂

  2. Cherine October 1, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    This is my first time here. U know I am Lebanese and I never visited this gorgeous place… shame on me:(
    I am happy to find you… another Lebanone blogger!!
    I loved ur sfouf… i made a batch a couple of days ago!!

    • Fragolina October 1, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

      Welcome!! And I’m very glad you passed by and left a note, Lebanon is a nice country from some angles!!! And I’m happy you liked the Sfouf, actually I love all Lebanese desserts… I know your blog, I visited it a couple of times!! 🙂

  3. Rosa September 23, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    what a splendid place and gorgeous looking food!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    • Fragolina September 24, 2010 at 6:19 am #

      Thank you Rosa 🙂 and welcome to my blog.

  4. confettina September 20, 2010 at 7:07 am #

    For sure 🙂 I’ll try the recipe soon!

    • Fragolina September 20, 2010 at 7:32 am #

      Alrighty!!:) And tell me if you like it.

  5. confettina September 19, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    The pastries look delicious, especially the cheese rolls!!

    • Fragolina September 20, 2010 at 6:05 am #

      All the food was delicious and good… and my Sfouf were a success 🙂 !!

Leave a comment