Torta Del Cielo / Almond Cake

29 Sep

This is my first time using almonds in baking. I chose to bake this recipe because I love almonds, never baked it and because I bought a new food processor so it was easy for me to grind the almonds. I love my new food processor. It does everything.

I do love to eat raw almonds, I do love all kind of nuts. So I thought it’s time to try it in baking. I looked through a book I have for an easy almond cake recipe and I found this Torta del Cielo.

The cake turned out to be very delicious. It was rich, moist, fluffy. Everyone liked it. So here is the recipe, if you find it nice, try it and tell me what you think.

Enjoy.

The one thing I shouldn’t have done is to take the cake out of the oven before the 40 minutes, I found it needed another 5 minutes in the oven to dry out completely.

Torta del Cielo

– 225 g unsalted butter, at room temperature

– 175 g raw almonds (in their skins)

– 200 g sugar, plus 2 tbsp

– 3 eggs, lightly beaten

– 1 tsp almond essence

– 1 tsp vanilla essence

– 75 g plain flour

– pinch of salt

– icing sugar, for dusting

Preheat the oven at 180C and grease a round 8 or 9 inch cake tin.

Place the almonds in a food processor and grind until a crumbly mixture. In a bowl, beat together the butter and sugar until smooth and fluffy. Beat in the almonds, eggs and almond and vanilla essences. Blend well.

Stir in the flour and salt and mix together briefly, until the flour is just incorporated.

Pour the batter in the cake tin and bake for 40 – 50 minutes, or until the cake feels spongy when pressed. Remove the tin from the oven and let cool on a wire rack. Before serving dust with icing sugar and decorate with some toasted flaked almonds.

Buon Appetito.

12 Responses to “Torta Del Cielo / Almond Cake”

  1. seem June 3, 2016 at 1:13 am #

    OMG.. i am so glad to finally find this recipe.. I hope when i will make it, it will turn out exactly as yours

    • Fragolina June 3, 2016 at 7:12 am #

      It’s good recipe. Tell me how it will come out. Thank you for visiting my blog. 🙂

  2. George October 13, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    It’s going to be a great and delicious weekend mimi

    • Fragolina October 13, 2010 at 11:11 am #

      Full of food and sweets, hein!!!!🙂

  3. George October 13, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    I liked this cake but I’m still waiting for the Apple Tart😛

    • Fragolina October 13, 2010 at 8:39 am #

      🙂 hunny, hopefully this week i’ll do the apple tart.

  4. Dimah October 3, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Wow, this cake looks so moist and delicious!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the kind comment!

    • Fragolina October 4, 2010 at 6:25 am #

      Thank you too for stopping by!!!🙂 I really like your recipes…

    • Kylie November 8, 2012 at 10:50 am #

      sooo yummy I try it and it’s delicous

      • Fragolina November 8, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

        thank you Kylie…🙂

  5. confettina September 30, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    Oh nice! I love almonds so I think I will love this cake.

Leave a Reply

