Apple Pie

25 Nov

I have always wanted to bake desserts with apples and specially an apple tart. But I kept postponing it since dealing with doughs is quite challenging and I don’t usually cook with it, even though I love eating doughs alot, and breads. But this time, I said I’m gonna do it. Of course, after some “sticky-fingers” moments, I succeeded to form a nice dough.

I enjoyed alot preparing this apple pie. And I’m gonna try other recipes with apples and cinnamon. I love cinnamon alot. I add it to a cup of tea, sprinkle it on top of pancakes with honey.

I enjoyed baking and eating this apple pie, it is delicious, has simple ingredients, and distinct flavors.

Apple Pie

For the crust:

– 2 cups All-purpose flour

– 120 g butter, cold, cubed

– 130 g sugar

– 1 egg

– pinch of salt

– 2 tbsp water

For the filling:

– 3 apples ( I used Granny Smith)

– 3 tbsp golden sugar

– 1 tsp ground cinnamon

Prepare the dough: Combine flour and sugar together in a bowl, then add the cold butter and rub the butter and flour with your fingers. Then add the egg, salt and water, and mix altogether to have a combined dough, try not to knead the dough alot. If it sticks to your fingers, use more flour. I transfered the batter onto the counter, it was easier to mix. When you have a nice dough, wrap it with a plastic sheet and refrigerate it the time to prepare the filling or for a couple of hours. I could’nt wait for hours.

Preheat oven to 200C.

Prepare the filling: Peel, core and slice apples. Mix the apples with sugar, and cinnamon.

Cut the dough in half. Put one half  between 2 baking sheets to ease the rolling thing. And roll to form a round dough then place it in an 8-inch pie plate. Fix the edges. Place the apples in plate and cover with the other rolled half dough. Cut slits in the top crust to allow steam to release in oven. Bake for 30-40 minutes until the apples are soft and the crust is golden brown.

Allow pie to cool before slicing. Enjoy.

 

4 Responses to “Apple Pie”

  1. issproductions November 29, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    I wish there were more pieces because I only had one, I love apples especially if they are stuffed in PIE. The mixture of softness and juice together makes a great combination. Even though I’d like to have another apple pie with cinnamon, but will wait to taste a pie with a different fruit….

    Great first time apple pie hunny.

    • Fragolina November 29, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

      youpii…. Hunny, i was thinking, since i still have apples in the fridge, to try a new recipe of apple pie, or apple tart.. soon, maybe this week… with your sis’ help, what do you think??🙂

      • issproductions November 29, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

        Definitely, you know my sis loves to help and try new sweets. So call her up and join her dramatic reaction🙂.

      • Fragolina November 29, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

        hihiihi, eh okk, ill do it.🙂

Leave a Reply

