Simple Orange Cake

5 May

Last weekend was my husband’s birthday, and on birthdays, I always love to do homemade cakes. We were at the village and I just had the basic ingredients for baking a cake and some oranges in the fridge. A simple orange cake. Very simple and quick to prepare and pop into the oven.

Flowers in our backyard.. Love spring.

I didn’t expect it to be so delicious, it was soft, tender, juicy and yummiii. The ingredients are so simple and basic;

The snails showed up in nature after heavy showers.. it looks so beautiful..

Simple Orange Cake:

zest of a small lemon

– zest of a small orange

– 4 eggs

-pinch of salt

-1 cup sugar

– half cup vegetable oil

– 1 cup fresh orange juice

– 2 1/2 cups cake flour

– 1 1/2 tsp baking powder

– 1/2 tsp vanilla sugar

Preheat oven to 180C. Whisk in a bowl, both zests, eggs, salt, sugar, then add the oil, and juice. Add the flour, baking powder and vanilla sugar. Do not overmix. Pour batter in a greased and floured round pan and bake for 35-40 min or until golden brown. Let cool abit and enjoy.

4 Responses to “Simple Orange Cake”

  1. diana fawaz May 6, 2011 at 3:30 am #

    Oh my God. That looks fabulous. I am speechless because of the beautiful setting in Deirmimas. Mimi, If, a biiiiggg Ifffff, If i visit this summer, what can I carry from my kitchen to yours??? Do you have a micro-plane or rasp for zesting and grating???Just ask anything!!!

    • Fragolina May 6, 2011 at 6:37 am #

      Ohhhh, thank you Diana, I’d be happy to meet you in Deirmimas… and thank you for your kind gesture, I almost have everything I need in my kitchen “for now”; of course, I dream of a big, bright, nice kitchen full of all appliances, and kitchen tools, hopefuly soon.🙂

  2. George May 5, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Juicy Yes, Tender Definitely, Soft Like a Pillow….My reaction, a satisfying one.

    Thank you my dear wife for the cake, I will be waiting for my next coming birthdays to eat cakes. And they will be so manyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy🙂.

    • Fragolina May 6, 2011 at 6:32 am #

      And I can’t wait to bake more cakes… for many birthdays to come..!!!🙂

Leave a Reply

