Orange Cake With Poppy Seeds

28 Feb

Yesterday my mom asked me if I can bake a cake with orange zest and juice. I replied, with a smile: ” yes, I will, and I’ll add to it some poppy seeds too” .

The cake was so delicious, very soft and tender. And the poppy seeds gave it a hint of nutty flavour with some crunchiness. Very easy to make. Enjoy.

Orange cake with poppy seeds

– 4 eggs

-1 tsp vanilla extract

– 1 cup sugar

– 1/2 cup canola oil

– juice of 1 orange

– 2 cups all-purpose flour

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1 tsp baking soda

– 1 tsp baking powder

– 2 tbsp poppy seeds

– zest of 1 orange and 1 lemon

Preheat oven to 180C. Whisk the eggs, sugar, vanilla together then add the oil and orange juice and mix until combined. In another bowl, whisk the flour, zest, salt, baking powder, baking soda, poppy seeds. And stir in the dry ingredients to the wet ones. Combine.

Pour in a greased and floured baking pan and bake for 40 to 45 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the middle of the cake comes out dry. Let it cool abit before unmolding on a rack.

Enjoy.

12 Responses to “Orange Cake With Poppy Seeds”

  1. adriana May 31, 2011 at 5:58 am #

    hi, i saw that you have two recipies for orange poppy seed cake. one posted in july 2010 and this one. Which one should I follow? I noticed some differences in the number of eggs butter vs canola oil??
    thanks

    • Fragolina May 31, 2011 at 6:37 am #

      Thank you for stopping by Adriana. Well, one recipe is lighter than the other, canola oil vs butter, both are delicious, I would go with the lighter version.πŸ™‚

      • adriana May 31, 2011 at 7:14 am #

        Thanks. Which one is the lighter one? The one with canola oil?
        Thanks

      • Fragolina May 31, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

        yes the one with oil is better and lighter than the buttery one.πŸ™‚

  2. tinkerbelle86 March 4, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    i have total cravings right now!

    • Fragolina March 4, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by Laura!πŸ™‚

  3. George March 2, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    I only had a small slice of it, what can I say dear I will have to disappoint you for a while since I will be cutting back on your sweets.

    I will miss out on alot of yummi things but you’re not going anywhere….right? :))))

    • Fragolina March 3, 2011 at 7:31 am #

      Hihihihi, no, I’m not going anywhere dear, we’ll always be baking sweets.πŸ™‚

  4. Dimah March 2, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    That cake looks so delicious! Yummy.

    • Fragolina March 2, 2011 at 7:18 am #

      Thank you Dimah for stopping by!πŸ™‚

  5. Confettina March 1, 2011 at 6:23 am #

    I love poppy seeds in cakes! I can almost smell the orange zest in your cakeπŸ™‚

    • Fragolina March 1, 2011 at 7:06 am #

      Yes it gives a nice flavor to the cakes.πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

