Cocoa Yogurt Cake

29 Jul

I always search for a chocolate cake recipe that contains just cocoa without any melted chocolate and that has an rich taste. Well this recipe has all the caracteristics of a rich, dense, chocolatey cake.

Its texture is amazing, it’s fluffy, light, moist and has a strong chocolatey taste. And the best thing is that the batter is ready to enter the oven in maximum 10 minutes. Mixing the ingredients was so simple. And it just needed 30 to 35 minutes baking.

I saw this recipe last week on a tv show for Robin Miller and as soon as the show was over I went into the kitchen and started whisking. Yes, I happened to have all the ingredients on hand, that makes the cake wonderful, except for the buttermilk, because I don’t think we have it in the supermarkets. So I did a slight change and I used instead whole-fat yogurt.

And the result was so delicious, the cake was so perfect, the way I like it.

Chocolate Yogurt Cake

1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour

-1 3/4 cup brown sugar

-3/4 cup cocoa

-1 1/2 tsp baking powder

-1 1/2 tsp baking soda

-1/4 tsp salt

-1 1/4 cup full-fat yogurt

-1 tsp vanilla extract

-2 eggs

-4 tbsp vegetable oil

-1 cup boiling water

-confectioners’ sugar

Preheat oven to 180C. Whisk dry ingredients in a large bowl. In another bowl whisk the wet ingredients and then combine the two mixtures.

Pour into a greased 30 cm baking pan and bake for 30-35 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the middle of the cake comes out clean.

Dust with powdered sugar and serve.

Enjoy.

13 Responses to “Cocoa Yogurt Cake”

  1. Ruth August 12, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Thank you, I am also always looking for chocolate cake recipes using only cocoa as I don’t keep chocolate in the house (or I’ll just eat it!) A very easy recipe resulting in delicious cakes!

    • Fragolina August 28, 2012 at 6:07 am #

      yeah well i also look for recipes without using chocolate, just tasting the “power” of cocoa, and it turned out to be a good recipe.:)

  2. nasreen johnson May 6, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    can i make cupcakes with this recipe?

    • Fragolina May 6, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

      thank you for your comment.:) of course you can make cupcakes with this recipe but then they’ll take less time in the oven to bake.

  3. Danielle October 27, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    thx a lot mimi for this recipe, yesterday i did it, it was sooooo delicious, yummyy🙂

    • Fragolina October 27, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

      You’re welcome!!! I’m so glad you liked it🙂

  4. confettina August 10, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    I baked this cake last night! It turned out great. Thanks for the recipe and the idea🙂 it’s very light and not too sweet, exactly how I love cakes.
    Merci!

    • Fragolina August 10, 2010 at 6:57 am #

      🙂 you’re welcome. I loved it too, and I like the idea of having that strong chocolatey taste with using only cocoa. And the yogurt makes it light and fluffy.

    • Fragolina August 10, 2010 at 11:32 am #

      Confettina, post some pictures of the cocoa cake, it would be nice.🙂

  5. Jasmine July 29, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    I love this cake, looks scrumptious! Yogurt makes most cakes so fluffy and light!
    Cheers
    Jasmine

    • Fragolina July 29, 2010 at 10:43 am #

      Thank you for your comment. I really appreciate it.🙂 Yes, I found it better to use yogurt instead of butter and more fatty stuff and the cake was so moist and fluffy. Everyone just loved it. Thanks for stopping by again.🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oat Cookies With Chocolate Chips « Fragole E Farfalle - February 10, 2011

    […] had people over dinner, so she asked if I could prepare something sweet for her, so I did the easy chocolate cake. And mom asked for sfouf, to bring to our sick neighbour. This made my day, baking three different […]

  2. Cheese Popovers « Fragole E Farfalle - July 30, 2010

    […] the smell of chocolate. Well, I have to confess, it was a baking night. I started by baking a cocoa cake, the one I have posted photos about in the previous post. But with a slight change is that […]

Leave a Reply

