Orange Poppy Seed Cake

12 Jul

  

This is my third time using poppy seeds in sweets. And I’m liking it. I like the unique nutty flavor they give to the cakes. First cakes I did were lemon poppy seeds cakes and they were so delicious. I’m not used to have strong lemon flavors in sweets. So I redid the same recipe but this time with orange zest and juice instead of lemon and they were a huge success.  

  

My husband asked me to prepare two desserts for a gathering dinner he planned with his collegues. So I prepared one Aish El Saraya and a poppy seed cake. So I searched the web for a new recipe and I found this one on joy of baking but I adapted it to orange zest and juice instead of lemon zest and juice.  

Beautiful...

 

The recipe requires a loaf pan but I used a bundt pan because I love its round shape with a hole in the middle. Using that pan makes the cake ready in less time than the time mentioned in the original recipe.  

These orange zests are beautiful

 

The cake is amazing, it is fluffy, moist, tender and cute with the little black dots. And it has a unique taste and a delightful crunch.  

  

Orange Poppy Seed Cake  

-3 eggs  

-1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract  

-1/4 cup milk (60 ml)  

-1 1/2 cups flour sifted, ( 195 g)  

-3/4 cup white sugar (150 g)  

-1 tsp baking powder  

-1/4 tsp salt  

-zest of 1 orange  

-3 tbsp poppy seeds (30 g)  

-150 g softened butter  

Orange Syrup  

60 ml orange juice  

-65 g white sugar  

Preheat oven to 180C and grease and flour a bundt pan.  

In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, milk & vanilla.  

In another large bowl, beat together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, poppy seeds, orange zest until combined. Add softened butter and half of the egg mixture and mix on low speed until moist. Increase the speed to medium and beat for one minute. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and add the remaining egg mixture in two batches, beating about 30 seconds after each addition.  

Put the batter in the pan and bake for 45 minutes or until the cake is golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  

Meanwhile, boil the sugar and the orange juice in a saucepan, stirring until dissolved.  

Place the cake on a wire rack to cool and pierce the cake with a toothpick to create holes and brush the top of the cake with half of the orange syrup. Cool for about 10 minutes. Unmold the cake and keep it on a wire rack and brush with the remaining syrup the sides of the cake. Cool completely.  

Enjoy.

4 Responses to “Orange Poppy Seed Cake”

  1. Racha August 6, 2012 at 5:47 am #

    Thanks for the recipe, I tried this cake and it tasted so good! And your blog is really nice also!

    • Fragolina August 6, 2012 at 9:15 am #

      thank you Racha, i’m glad you liked it.:)

  2. George July 14, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    Well mimi the dinner was extraordinary, everyone loved the meals and they surely adored the sweets.

    Poppy seeds are not commonly known among people, many of the guests were wondering what the black dots were and even some loved the after taste of the seeds as they seemed to stick for a period of time.

    The repeated question from most of the people was “What other kinds of cakes can you bake containing poppy seeds?”

    You seem to be satisfying a lot of hungry stomachs for delicious sweets. I know because I’m one of them😛.

    On behalf of the tasters if not all Thank You!.

    • Fragolina July 15, 2010 at 6:11 am #

      I was thinking about poppy seeds the other day; I would like to try them in cakes other than orange and lemon, I thought of chocolate or cocoa, but I think these will hide their unique flavors.

Leave a Reply

