Lemon Cake

23 Jun

As I said in a previous post, my husband planned for a dinner gathering with his collegues and he asked me to prepare two cakes for dessert. It was my pleasure, of course, to bake these two cakes. I enjoy baking. Whenever there is a gathering, I try to prepare something sweet.

This lemon cake is extremely refreshing, tangy, sourish. It has a strong, sharp, lemony flavor. The texture is soft and rich. It’s a new thing for me to eat lemony cakes or tarts. I wasn’t used to its sourness. I like to try different recipes of one cake to see which one is the best.

The feedbacks of my husband’s collegues about this lemon cake were positive. They liked it and I liked it alot. It has a distinctive taste. It is delicious.

I found the recipe on the foodnetwork and it is Courtesy of STAR olive oil.

Lemon Cake

-2 cups flour

-2 tsp baking powder

-3 eggs

-1 cup sugar

-3/4 cup olive oil

-1/2 cup lemon juice

-2 tsp grated lemon rind

For the syrup:

-1/4 cup lemon juice

-1/4  cup powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 176C. Sift together the flour and baking powder. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs, sugar, olive oil, lemon juice and grated lemon. Mix into the dry ingredients. Pour the batter into oiled and floured pan and bake for 45 minutes.

Meanwhile combine the 1/4 cup lemon juice and 1/4 cup powdered sugar and pour over hot cake then bake for 10 more minutes. Let cake stand on cooling rack for 20 minutes. Remove from pan and dust some powdered sugar.

Enjoy.

2 Responses to “Lemon Cake”

  1. confettina June 26, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    I tried this recipe yesterday! I loved it and so did my guests. Thank youuuu🙂

    • Fragolina June 28, 2010 at 6:35 am #

      Great!!!!🙂 I’m glad you liked it…. it is good no?!!

Leave a Reply

