Chocolate Shortbread

9 Feb

It’s been a while since my last baking. I miss baking. I love baking. It relieves me. Makes me happy. Today I was home, I was abit bored, the only thing that came up to my mind was to go into the kitchen and bake something sweet. I needed to do something easy, quick and delicious. Wanted to use ingredients from my pantry.

I have a book, never used before, The Great British Book of Baking , that includes many interesting delicious recipes. Too many good recipes, but I wanted a simple quick-to-make recipe, so I chose this Chocolate Shortbread.

In the afternoon, my husband and I went for a walk; it was raining; we love walking specially when it’s raining. And to sweeten our walk, I packed few pieces of the chocolate shortbread and on our way, we passed by a coffee shop and got black coffee; we chose a nice spot and sat on a bench and enjoyed the coffee and the shortbread. It was a yummi, sweet, delicious moment, under the rain. Would definitely make it again.

Chocolate Shortbread (adapted from The Great British Book of Baking)

- 260 g all-purpose flour

- 100 g caster sugar

- 40 g cocoa powder

- a pinch of salt

- 200 unsalted butter, chilled and diced

- extra sugar for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 180 C. Grease with butter a round cake tin.

In a food processor, put the flour, sugar, cocoa and salt into the bowl and pulse for a few seconds, just to combine the ingredients. Add the butter and run the machine for 30 seconds, the mixture will look like fine sand. Turn off the blade and tip the dough into the prepared tin. Press the mixture into an even layer, using the back of a spoon. Prick the dough well and lightly score into 12 sections with a round-bladed knife.

Bake for 25 min just until firm.

Remove from the oven, sprinkle with sugar and cut into sections along the marked lines with a very sharp knife. Leave to cool before removing the tin.

Enjoy. Store in an airtight container.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

