Oat Cookies With Chocolate Chips

10 Feb

I like small treats. Treats to nibble. My sister & her family visit us on weekends, so I plan, every time, to bake something sweet for the kids, and for us. Mainly, the sweets are for us, the grown-ups, the kids would taste a small bite and the rest is ours. Actually, what I love about it is that, after lunch, we gather round for dessert and some coffee, and we chat, sitting all the evening chatting.

I love that time spent with family, those afternoons, rainy afternoons, where we gather for hours, munching sweets, staying warm and chatting.

The first thing that came to my mind is to bake some chocolate chip cookies. I know I made some two weeks ago, but this time I wanted to add some oatmeal and chocolate chips. And I do not need a reason to bake every week the same dessert, am I right?! :)

I was happy that day, because I baked different desserts. The cookies for me; my sister had people over dinner, so she asked if I could prepare something sweet for her, so I did the easy chocolate cake. And mom asked for sfouf, to bring to our sick neighbour. This made my day, baking three different kinds of sweets.

The cookies were delicious, they were crispy and soft. Perfect for breakfast, also, and they become chewier in time, which I like alot.

Oat cookies with chocolate chips

- 1 1/2 cup cake flour

- 1/2 cup oatmeal

- 1/2 tsp salt

- 3/4 tsp baking soda

- 1 tsp baking powder

- 140 g butter, soft

- 1/2 cup brown sugar

- 1/2 cup caster sugar

- 1 egg

- 1 tsp vanilla extract

- 1 cup chocolate chips

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

In another bowl, beat the butter and sugars for few minutes then add the egg, vanilla extract, until well combined. Add the flour mixture and incorporate the chocolate chips. Form a ball and cover with a plastic wrap and chill for 24 – 36 hours. I left it in the fridge for 36 hours.

On the baking day, preheat the oven to 180C. Unwrap the dough and scoop small balls and place them on a baking tray covered with a baking sheet.

Bake for 15 – 20 min or until golden brown. Let cool for few minutes before removing to a cooling rack.

Enjoy.

3 Responses to “Oat Cookies With Chocolate Chips”

  1. Lisa @ Sweet as Sugar Cookies February 12, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    That’s so great that you get to spend time with your family having so much fun. These cookies sound like a delicious treat. I bet everyone loves them. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog called “Sweets for a Saturday” and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your cookies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/02/sweets-for-saturday-4.html

  2. George February 11, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    I liked the chips alot, wouldn’t mind having some from day to day. Keep on baking hunny my mouth and my stomach don’t mind trying your meals whether old or new :).

    • Fragolina February 11, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      Yes dear, I’ll keep on baking and you will taste every sweet I make!!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

