Mini Brioche Buns

3 Feb

Brioche with Tilleul Honey

Today, Fragole e Farfalle turns one. It’s been a very new, interesting blogging year; I was introduced to the world of blogging by my friend Confettina, a world that I liked alot. The fact of managing & mastering a website is quite good; many friends were impressed how I got to write a blog, manage the features, widgets and theme. In the begining, it was a complicated thing to do, even to search for the simplest thing; now, it is the easiest.

I was also introduced to the amazing world of food blogs. The chefs, the beautiful food pictures, the delicious recipes, the interesting posts and stories, which kept me more attached to my dream and project, more desireful, more ambitious. I got motivated to bake, and bake and bake. I was happy being in the kitchen baking, trying new recipes, fail and succeed. I learnt alot.

Getting a new professional camera will give me the opportunity to take and post more beautiful pictures, the way I see them, beautiful and delicious, and being able to make others enjoy them. Impatient for that day to come.

For this occasion, I decided to bake a new recipe; this no-knead brioche recipe. You won’t believe how yummi and nice the smell was in the whole house. A warm, cosy, buttery smell. Of course I tasted a warm brioche, the minute they got out of the oven, and I couldn’t not eat more than one. They were extremely delicious, still warm; soft, buttery. I drizzled on it some Tilleul honey, tried some apricot jam, all delicious.

And even delicious when, the following morning, I heated a piece of brioche ( actually two!), they were still so yummi; of course I didn’t miss the cup of black coffee, (am I right, hubby!!??:) )

The recipe is courtesy of Olive magazine, February 2011 edition.

Brioche Buns

- 200 g butter, very soft

- 2 tbsp golden caster sugar, ( I used Demerara)

- 3 eggs beaten, plus 1 beaten for glazing the next day

- 500 g bread flour

- 1/2 tsp yeast

- 1 tsp salt

- 200 ml whole milk

Mix butter, sugar, eggs in a large bowl. Add the flour, yeast and salt and pour on the milk. Stir the mixture, I used my hands. Cover and leave somewhere cool for overnight or the whole day.

Heat the oven to 190C. Butter the muffin tins. Pull off lumps of dough the size of a clementine ( flour your hands if it’s sticky) and form a ball. Drop inside the tins (for few brioche, I inserted few pieces of chocolate chips inside) and brush the tops with the beaten egg. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Enjoy warm, either plain or with some honey. Super Yummiiiii…..

8 Responses to “Mini Brioche Buns”

  1. bagnidilucca February 4, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    I’m sure you will love Rome. I have been many times and I am always wanting more.

    • Fragolina February 4, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

      I’ve been to Rome 13 years ago and I loved it… and if I’ll have the opportunity to visit Italy every year, I won’t mind at all.

  2. Confettina February 3, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Oh wow! They look so yummy!! Bravo Fragolina!

    • Fragolina February 4, 2011 at 6:58 am #

      Yes bery bery delicious!! I loved them alot :)

  3. George February 3, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    A while ago, it was more than a year, now months to go and we’ll be walking in Rome.

  4. George February 3, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    Indeed hunny, I won’t deny it that coffee does present itself as a great mixture with many sweets and bread based recipes. Even though we’ve been together for few years but I have drank coffee with you so many times that the number exceeds the times I did before we were together.

    I’m not a big fan of coffee but in the same time I have to admit that it does bring flavor.

    I’m glad that you have found yourself and that this blog has played a part in your desire and ambition. It may seem a little but nevertheless life starts like that, in the end Rome wasn’t build in a day right :).

    • Fragolina February 3, 2011 at 8:34 am #

      Coffee and sweets, specially the ones with a hint of chocolate, are a great combination. We are building ourselves little by little… What I know about Rome is that Rome is waiting for us in a few months!!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

