Cake With Oranges, Almonds & Cinnamon

26 Jan

I was baking a cake yesterday afternoon, when I should have been at work. Why, because of delicate political issues occuring in the country and people manifesting in the streets who decided to close roads, (in my opinion), in an uncivilized way, all the employees were given permission to leave their desks so they can reach their home safely.

I took the opportunity to bake a cake. So on my way home, I passed by the supermarket to get the stuff. I was reading few new foodblogs when I found an interesting one, with nice delicious recipes, named Menta E Liquirizia. I found a good recipe of a cake with oranges, almonds and cinnamon, favourite ingredients.

Now, writing this post, I’m enjoying a piece of this cake with a cup of coffee.

The cake is soo delicious, I shared it with the family, everyone liked it. I liked the almond flavour with a touch of cinnamon, and citrus. The cake is soft, tender and the almond’s smell is so nice and warm.

Cake with oranges, almonds & cinnamon

- 300 g pastry flour

- 200 g sugar

- 100 g toasted almonds

- zest & juice of 2 oranges

- 3 eggs

- 60 g canola oil

- milk, to soften the batter

- 1 tsp cinnamon powder (or as much as you want)

- 1 tsp baking powder

- pinch of salt

Toast the almonds and whizz to crumbs, adding one or two teaspoons of sugar while grinding.  In a large bowl, beat the eggs and sugar until pale and creamy. Add the oil in a stream, then the orange zest and juice, the almonds, cinnamon and pinch of salt. Combine. Then sift the flour and baking powder over the batter and combine alternating with a bit of milk until the batter is soft, not too dense. Pour the batter in a greased and floured cake pan and bake in a 160C preheated oven for 35-40 minutes until soft to the touch and golden brown.

Let cool on a rack and enjoy with a cup of coffee.

4 Responses to “Cake With Oranges, Almonds & Cinnamon”

  1. George February 2, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Whenever I see such cakes a cup of pineapple juice pops in my head :).

    • Fragolina February 3, 2011 at 6:48 am #

      Yeaaa I know, pineapple juice for you and a black coffee for me!!! :)

  2. Confettina January 26, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    I saw this recipe on Menta e Liquirizia and I saved it because it looked yummy!!

    • Fragolina January 26, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

      Hihihi, you too!! yes I find it very delicious :) I got another one too, but for later.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

