Broccoli Soup

8 Jan

It’s been very cold these days, raining, thunders. But I adore this refreshing, sharp cold, greyish sky, sun’s rays cutting through the clouds, glittering raindrops, rainbows. What could make these cold days, warmer, cosy, homey? a hot soup. I had in the fridge a medium head of broccoli and some blue cheese leftover.

I didn’t expect it would be so delicious, it made my body warm. Plus it’s so easy to prepare and it takes no time at all. Here’s a warm comfy recipe for your cold nights.

Broccoli Soup

- 1 large onion, roughly chopped

- olive oil

- 1 large potato, peeled, cubed

- 1 liter vegetable stock

- 1 head broccoli, about 300 g, roughly chopped

- 100 g blue cheese ( I used Roquefort)

Cook the onion in 1 tbsp olive oil until soft about 5 min. Add the potato and stock and simmer until the potato is tender, about 10 min. Add the broccoli and cook for 5 min til tender but bright green. Then add half the cheese and whizz in a blender to a smooth soup. Season and serve with the rest of the crumbled cheese. You can serve it with a toasted slice of bread.

Bon Appétit.

8 Responses to “Broccoli Soup”

  1. Dimah January 8, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    The soup looks creamy and delicious!

    • Fragolina January 8, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

      Yes it is delicious, creamy but no cream inside!!! :)

  2. bagnidilucca January 8, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    I love broccoli, so I’m sure I would like this.

    • Fragolina January 8, 2011 at 11:48 am #

      Yes it is delicious!! You would love it, for sure.

  3. Confettina January 8, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Mmmm! I just finished lunch but I can always squeeze a bowl of homemade soup!

    • Fragolina January 8, 2011 at 11:50 am #

      I’m gonna try soon another soup at home (not gonna tell you which one, it’s a surprise) :))), one I ate at a restaurant, sooo delicious.

      • limassol January 17, 2011 at 10:40 am #

        If I’m not a big fan of blue cheese, any other replacement that you would advise me with? :)
        Merci

      • Fragolina January 17, 2011 at 10:59 am #

        First, thank you for stopping by!! :) If I didnt have any blue cheese, I would add some grated Parmiggiano or crumbled Camembert. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

