Happy New Year / My First Macarons

31 Dec

I’m saying goodbye to the year 2010 by baking and more baking. On Chirstmas Eve, I got as a gift from my hubby, a scale. A beautiful scale that could end my counting and measuring difficulties in the kitchen. So… the first thing that came up to my mind is trying to do some macarons. French macarons. I have a desire to bake the perfect macaron. And I’ve been going through different foodblogs where I found recipes and beautiful amazing pictures about macarons. I read alot about it. I read on MyTartelette a complete tutorial on macarons, I liked it, it was very helpful. But as they say, Practice makes Perfect.

So I followed the instructions and measurements and the result wasn’t at all like the macarons I see on many nice foodblogs. Mine were feetless, a little bit runny when piping, had some cracks on the sides and they expanded after baking. They tasted good, I liked the strong taste of almonds. I’m not saying that I’m satisfied with these unperfect macarons, but I can say that I’m happy to have tried them. I’m sure the next many times I bake macarons, they will be better until I’m completely satisfied.

Few more hours and 2011 begins. 2010 was a fine year, in which I started my blog. I want to wish everyone a beautiful year where you can fulfill your dreams, feel joy inside your heart, be healthy, take few risks and be adventurous without writing down any New Year Resolutions that could limit us and force us to accomplish them.

Enjoy your night, eat good food, stay safe and I’ll see you next year!!!

4 Responses to “Happy New Year / My First Macarons”

  1. confettina January 1, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Maria, c’est genial! Macarons!
    Keep going and you’ll surely end up where you want to be (pastry chef!). These macarons looks good to me :)

    • Fragolina January 1, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

      They’re not like I wanted them to be… I’m not worried, ‘coz it’s the first time… I just have to keep trying until I get those cute feet, crackless…!! :)

  2. bagnidilucca December 31, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    It is already New Year here – and it is raining – again. Not to worry, I’m sure it is going to be a great year. Your macarons look great. Happy New Year.

    • Fragolina January 1, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

      Happy New Year to you too!! Hope it’ll bring us all the best. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

