Christmas Cookies

21 Dec

Happy Holidays.

I have started my Christmas baking. It is a busy week, the kitchen full of chocolate, sugar, butter, recipes and books. Yesterday I made a batch of sugar cookies with orange zest. It’s a simple recipe and delicious. I love to have different kind of sweets displayed on the table, on Christmas eve, after we have ate our dinner. Everyone will chose whatever he or she likes even though our stomachs are full of appetizers, wine, meat and salads, and I like my eyes to enjoy the beautiful desserts’ shapes and colors .



This cookies recipe is my mom’s. Simple ingredients, simple flavors. I decided this time to make some thumbprints shapes and I added a little orange jam. For others, I added some pine nuts to the cookie dough.

Cookies recipe

- 200 g soft unsalted butter

- 1 cup powdered sugar

- 2 1/2 cups cake flour

- 1 egg

- 1 tsp baking powder

- zest of one orange

- 1 tsp vanilla extract

- pinch of salt

For decoration

- some pine nuts, orange jam, brown sugar

Put all the ingredients in one bowl and whisk together until all combined and you got a beautiful nice dough. Roll dough into 1/2 cm and cut into different shapes. Bake for 20 minutes in a preheated oven on 180 c.

For the thumbprints cookies, press in the center of each with your finger. Bake for 7 minutes then remove from oven and press again, and bake until they are golden and firm. When cooled a little, spoon jam into thumbprints.

For the pine nuts cookies, stick few nuts on the dough before baking.

Enjoy and Merry Christmas.

8 Responses to “Christmas Cookies”

  1. confettina December 22, 2010 at 7:14 am #

    Christmas is the best time to bake cookies and cakes! Great recipe! I made some gingerbread cookies. I’ll share those on Confetti soon. Happy Holidays Fragole!

    • Fragolina December 22, 2010 at 7:40 am #

      Merry Christmas to you too!! I love baking in this great time. I’m also thinking of making alos gingerbread tonight, ‘coz the cookies I made, for Christmas Eve, are being eaten :)

  2. George December 21, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    I’ll have to taste them on Friday to certify your opinion if they are delicious or not. Two more days and these little sweets will be in reach for me.

    I’m also wondering about other sweets that you’ll be making.

    Have a good cooking experience tre tre and let the baking begin.

    • Fragolina December 22, 2010 at 6:55 am #

      I already tasted them, of course.. yes I made other sweets yesterday and more to come today and tomorrow. :)

  3. Dimah December 21, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Wow, those cookies look amazing!

    • Fragolina December 21, 2010 at 9:56 am #

      Thank you and they taste delicious too!! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bûche De Noël With Almond Cream Filling « Fragole E Farfalle - December 25, 2010

    [...] a great beautiful taste to the cream. I’m so delighted having baked all these good sweets, cookies, spiced cookies, chocolate clusters, mocha chocolate bûche de Noël and this Bûche de Noël with [...]

  2. Spiced & Iced Christmas Cookies « Fragole E Farfalle - December 24, 2010

    [...] favourite occasion, Christmas. I already prepared different kind of chocolate clusters and some cookies . I found this recipe of cinnamon and spices cookies, in a magazine, GoodFood, and since I love [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

