Sfouf

23 Aug

This soft tender yellow cake is called Sfouf, it is a Lebanese traditional sweet. It is a simple easy cake to prepare. The recipe calls for semolina and turmeric, an asian spice that gives that beautiful yellow color and a unique flavor.

We add some ground anise to the batter. It is an aromatic plant, its flavor resembles liquorice, and its seeds are used either whole or ground in many dishes and desserts and in liquor like the middle eastern Arak.

The sfouf is one of the cakes that are favoured during Easter fasting because it doesn’t contain any eggs or any dairy products. Here I chose to use both milk and oil.The texture is so nice and I could eat more than a piece, of course, at once.

Sfouf

- 1 1/2 cup cake flour

- 1/2 cup semolina

- 1 tsp turmeric

- 1 tsp ground anise

- 1 1/2 tsp baking powder

- 1 cup sugar

- 1 cup milk

- 1/2 cup vegetable oil

- roasted sesame or pine nuts, to sprinkle

Preheat oven to 175C. Mix the flours, turmeric, anise, baking powder together in a bowl. In another bowl, mix the sugar and milk together. Add the flour mixture, then add the oil and stir to combine.

Pour the batter in a round pan, sprinkle over the sesame or the pine nuts and bake for 25- 30 minutes til golden brown. Let cool and cut into small square pieces.

Enjoy.

8 Responses to “Sfouf”

  1. christelle is flabbergasting September 6, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    Another recipe I should have learn from my mother! Well, it’s not too late… :) Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    • Fragolina September 7, 2010 at 6:34 am #

      :), hihi, yes it’s not too late and I’d love to see your sfouf pictures. I love our lebanese sweets but most of them are too fatty… so i try to do easy light stuff.

  2. Jasmine August 23, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    Sfous is delicious, it was one of my grandmother’s fav recipes!!

    • Fragolina August 24, 2010 at 6:50 am #

      Yes, very delicious, I love it, it was my favourite dessert too when I was younger, but now the “favourites” part is expanding.:) Thank you for stopping by.

  3. Confettina August 23, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Oh Sfouf!!! Thanks for posting this! I almost forgot about sfouf! I’ll do some to take with me to a dinner we’re invited to this weekend. Thank you!

    • Fragolina August 23, 2010 at 10:53 am #

      Me love Sfouf alot… and the ones found in the sweets shops are NOT Sfouf, they don’t taste Sfouf at all. But this one is so yummmiii, I liked it…. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oat Cookies With Chocolate Chips « Fragole E Farfalle - February 10, 2011

    [...] if I could prepare something sweet for her, so I did the easy chocolate cake. And mom asked for sfouf, to bring to our sick neighbour. This made my day, baking three different kinds of [...]

  2. Feast Of Saint Memas « Fragole E Farfalle - December 8, 2010

    [...] I thought of some nice and easy sweets, the first thing that came up to my mind was the traditional Sfouf. And I’m glad I baked it because there were only two kind of desserts in addition to [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

