Spaghetti Al Pesto

23 Jul

The following recipe is one of the first dishes I have ever prepared. It’s my favourite. I just love basil, its fragrance and taste is great in food. It adds freshness to the dish. It has a strong, sharp flavor and smell that wake up our senses.

This dish is quite easy and quick. It just take few minutes to be ready, you prepare the pesto while the pasta is cooking. I usually prepare more than I can eat, because a small serving is never enough for me. Even if I was full I keep on eating to finish my plate. And I desire more. That is how much I like the spaghetti al pesto.

I used to add pine nuts to the pesto sauce but this time I didn’t have any. So I used walnuts instead. And I have to tell you, the result was so good, even better than the pine nuts flavor. The nutty flavor was so noticeable. So I advice you to try the pesto sauce with walnuts and tell me what do you think about it. So delicious.

Spaghetti Al Pesto (for 4 or 2 hungry persons)

-1/4 cup olive oil

-1 big garlic clove

-handful of basil

-2 tbsp parsley

-handful of chopped walnuts

-salt and pepper

-3 tbsp parmesan plus more to sprinkle

-200 g whole-wheat spaghetti

In a food processor, blend together the garlic, basil, parsley, walnuts, salt and pepper. Stir slowly the olive oil. Then add the parmesan. Meanwhile cook the spaghetti al dente. Keep 1/4 cup of the pasta water.

Toss together the pasta, pesto and the warm water. Sprinkle some parmesan on top of your plate.

Enjoy.

3 Responses to “Spaghetti Al Pesto”

  1. Confettina July 27, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    Yummy yummy yummy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pizza Al Pesto Con Funghi E Pomodorini « Fragole E Farfalle - August 12, 2010

    [...] night I was preparing some basil pesto to freeze for later use, so whenever I want to eat spaghetti al pesto, I have some ready pesto. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

